The East Feliciana Parish Courthouse stands as a monument
that has suffered few alterations from its original appearance
as completed in 1840.
Designed by J. S. Savage and built by
Lafayette Saunders, the Courthouse stands as a two-story brick
building surrounded by a Doric colonnade. Saunders, when his
construction bid of $23,000 was accepted, resigned as a member
of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury.
The five buildings
comprising Lawyers' Row face the Courthouse across Woodville
Street on the north side of the public square. These, like
the Courthouse, are Greek Revival in style and painted white.
Dating from the 1840s, the two brick offices at the east end
of the row and the frame buildings at the west end of the
row are alike in having tetrastyle porticos averaging 20 feet
in width. The other two buildings each have seven columns
under level cornices.
A full Greek Revival Courthouse opposite
five adjacent law office buildings of harmonious design form
an ensemble unique when first completed and even more remarkable
for having survived largely intact.
Today, only four courthouses built in Louisiana before the
Civil War are still used for parish proceedings. Aside from
the Clinton, East Feliciana Parish, they are found in Thibodaux,
Lafourche Parish, St. Marinsville, St. Martin Parish, and
Homer, Claiborne Parish.
Some courthouse alterations in recent
years to the Clinton Courthouse included cutting vents in
chimneys and putting lights on the roof. Original specifications
confirm that the East Feliciana Parish Courthouse is minimally
altered from its appearance as completed in 1840.
and Lawyers' Row, painted in a pristine white surrounding
a public courtyard, provide a scenic view of a past that has
survived completely intact. Lawyers' Row is located across
from the Clinton Courthouse and currently contains offices.
Courthouse and Lawyers' Row, a National Historic Landmark,
are located in downtown historic Clinton along State Hwy 10.
The buildings are open to the public during normal business
hours, although tours are not available.
provided by The Louisiana Office of State Parks